Questions about masonry, thumbnails size, thumbnail regeneration...

Ask Plugin Installation, Settings & Configuration, Problem, Errors & Bugs Related issues Here

Moderator: forum_m

Post Reply
zendemon
Posts: 33
Joined: February 17th, 2016, 5:46 pm

Questions about masonry, thumbnails size, thumbnail regeneration...

Post by zendemon » April 13th, 2016, 9:38 pm

Hello,

Bought yesterday all plugins to use especially this one on a photography site, along with Guardian theme.

I run into a couple of problems, some that I solved, some I let you solve for the benefits of your customers ;)

1. Thumbnail regeneration. This one is solved but I write why and how for folks that may run into the same troubles than me ;) It can take a lot of time to reimport photos inside wordpress to have all thumbnail generated for the theme and all the used plugins, such as the Responsive Portfolio Pro.
But it is a necessary task, or you finish with galleries, albums or whatever not displayed correctly.
As I have already a lot of pictures on my site, I wanted to use a plugin to regenerate my wordpress thumbnails. But It was a nightmare, none of them worked and I get a lot of warnings or error messages such as
"Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /wp-content/plugins/post-thumbnail-editor/php/functions.php on line 128"
I deactivated all plugins, read the wordpress codex about memory, thumbnails and stuff... As I use a Synology Nas for my sites, I tried so many configurations... None of them with a result.
Finally, I tried on some of my other sites using weblizar themes and get the same result... But I still have one site with a default wordpress theme and I did not get any arror on that one, all thumbnails were regenerated without any error!
I made a search on your website, and finally found a post were a guy had the same problem: https://weblizar.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... rate#p9871
The answer was here:
Go to theme directory => core => customs => open the image_crop.php and find the below given line of code.

add_filter( 'intermediate_image_sizes', 'weblizar_image_presets');

Replace by

//add_filter( 'intermediate_image_sizes', 'weblizar_image_presets');
So I write this for all who run into the same troubles than me, spending hours to find why, where and how. This is the solution, and it works for guardian, Enigma, and all other themes.

And now I would suggest to you, weblizar, to add more technical information into your theme and plugin documentation, or maybe a FAQ or whatever that can help your customers to found answers that you have already delivered =)

2. I want to create some gallery (portraiture, animals, cars, whatheveryouwant...) and each of them will contains between 5 to 20 photos.
So I created some galleries with Responsive Portfolio Pro, and put these galleries into a page, with a rounded image to access my galleries... No problem!
The problem is when I want to display the gallery photos...
Some of my photos are 4x3, some are 3x2, some are 1x1, I can even have 16x10 photos...
If I don't set masonry, all thumbnails are displayed rectangle, so all my photos are cropped, and, of course, don't show what is important in the photo.
So Question 2A: Is it normal that my thumbnails are rectangle when masonry is not activated?
To get ride of these cropped photos, I set on the masonry option... But when I look into my page, all photo thumbnails are still displayed as rectangle! For info, Pagination is on.
So Question 2B: Why using masonry to display rectangle thumbnails? ^^
Reading this forum and a lot of post about the subject (where in most of all, you ask your customers to give you access to their website and after that, no news, we don"t know what you have done), I finally found that you ask to deactivate the pagination.
Ok, I deactivate and check....
Tadaaaa... The page is displayed but the photos are not visible =) If I use my chrome inspector, I can see that the thumbnails are now in the correct size, but photos are not displayed.
So question 2C: How to have my photos displayed when using masonry and no pagination?
Playing with Chrome to show the code of my page in real time, I found out you where using

Code: Select all

<li class="col-md-4 col-sm-6 wl-gallery" style="position: absolute; left: 0px; top: 550px;">
So I replaced the class whith another one col-md-4 col-sm-6 wl-gallery animated fadeIn in real time, and Tada... This time my photos where displayed. So it looks like the class you use is not correct.
Of course, I need you to upgrade your code in order to have it working as it should. And I really want to know what you will do to have it works for the other customers that may run into this problem.

Web site is https://darkroom.ovh/kadbazart/
The page that contains my galleries is : https://darkroom.ovh/kadbazart/photo-gallery-categorie/ (not reachable from a menu because I want to have it working fine before going live)

I am sending you a mail with an admin account to the site.

Best regards.

support_staff
Posts: 7216
Joined: February 26th, 2015, 1:40 pm

Re: Questions about masonry, thumbnails size, thumbnail regeneration...

Post by support_staff » April 14th, 2016, 12:52 pm

Hello zendemon,
thanks for being updated with the plugin..
1- we'll surely make the changes in future updations.
2- there is an seperate option in the plugin by the name "Album setting" which will work only for album cover. The page on your site https://darkroom.ovh/kadbazart/photo-gallery-categorie/ is showing all the album covers of galleries you've created. When you click on the album cover, the gallery will open and gallery will follow the settings defined in portfolio you've created.
In portfolio if you select rectangle or circle it will result on the gallery not on the album cover.
For convenience: When you save the settings of portfolio..http://imgur.com/J9v4c2M, the result will be shown here-->http://imgur.com/oMM5adM...not here-->http://imgur.com/PJXqSKQ
Let us know for the further assistance.
Thansks.

zendemon
Posts: 33
Joined: February 17th, 2016, 5:46 pm

Re: Questions about masonry, thumbnails size, thumbnail regeneration...

Post by zendemon » April 14th, 2016, 1:27 pm

Hello weblizards,
Maybe I was not clear enough writing my post.
I clearly understand the circle/rectangle option in plugin settings is for galleries covers, not for images in the galleries, for which you have an option in the galleries définition page. My album covers are displayed as I want.
My problem is related to the thumbnails of the images in the galleries.
They are displayed using a rectangle thumbnail, so that is why I wanted to use masonry. But masonry displays my images in rectangle too when pagination option is on, so it is useless.
I can have my thumbnail with original dimensions if I deactivate pagination, but in that case we cannot see the images, and this seems to be due to the displaying effect missing in the class used to display them (see previous post).
I just changed my first gallery (carrelets) pagination option to off. Please Check https://darkroom.ovh/kadbazart/photo-gallery-categorie/ , click on Carrelets, and then you will see thumbnails are not visible, even if their positions and sizes seems to correspond to what I want.
Thanks for helping out.
Frédéric

support_staff
Posts: 7216
Joined: February 26th, 2015, 1:40 pm

Re: Questions about masonry, thumbnails size, thumbnail regeneration...

Post by support_staff » April 14th, 2016, 5:36 pm

Hello zendemon,
1- Now the images are getting displayed on site in both cases- pagination on/off. The issue of class has been resolved. You can check.
2- And it is not possible to use mansory view with pagination..because mansory condition works when all the images are loaded... for reference you can see the galleries created here http://masonry.desandro.com/.
If need any help please let us know.
Thanks.

zendemon
Posts: 33
Joined: February 17th, 2016, 5:46 pm

Re: Questions about masonry, thumbnails size, thumbnail regeneration...

Post by zendemon » April 14th, 2016, 9:38 pm

Hello,

Thank you for helping me out on this one. I did not test everything but it looks ok.

I plan to use this plugin on another site soon. How can I do that to not get the same problems? Copying the plugin folder to my other site to have the last modifications that makes this plugin works at it should?

Best regards,
Frédéric

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2880
Joined: June 5th, 2014, 1:03 am

Re: Questions about masonry, thumbnails size, thumbnail regeneration...

Post by admin » April 15th, 2016, 5:09 pm

Hi Zendemon,

If you are using the same Theme with the plugin.

Then, we will suggest you use the same plugin directory.

Just do you simple task. Download the plugin directory & make a zip backup on your local system OR save into email draft for future use.

Hope that helps you.

Thanks

Post Reply

Return to “Plugin Installation, Settings & Configuration, Problem, Errors & Bugs”